Hold Onto Your Hats…

I’m about to get serious for a second.

This is a rare occasion, I assure you, so buckle up!

So, I was waiting to get my girls at school and happened upon someone I hadn’t seen in some time. We chatted about how the kids were all getting bigger and what was new in our lives and I told her about my book coming out in August.

At first she was very impressed, until she found out what genre the book is…historical romance.

Mind you, I am in NO WAY ashamed of what I write, as a matter of fact, I’m damned proud of it. However, not everyone feels the same way. Case in point, my acquaintance.

She made that face that people make when you inadvertently over share and informed me that she used to work at a library and that she remembered seeing a lot of those types of books being checked out. She then proceeded to tell me that she noticed that “those women weren’t of the highest education.”

Um, I’m sorry…stepped in WHAT?!?

I’m pretty sure she just told me that what I write is for stupid people.

Wow. That’s pretty harsh.

Now, mind you, I don’t claim to have written the next Pride and Prejudice or Anna Karenina or anything of that nature, but jeebus, talk about the back-handed comment.

To be perfectly honest, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard/read judgement of this nature regarding my writing genre. I just don’t understand why that is though.

Why is it so bad to read a juicy romance novel? Why is someone automatically judged as being “less educated” because they enjoy reading about two people making the beast with two-backs? Why do people think that you have to “get something” out of a book other than entertainment?

I’m not judging, if a person doesn’t enjoy what I write, that’s perfectly fine, I can accept that. What bothers me is the snap decision that is made when the genre is brought up.

Because I can assure you, that education does not intelligence make.

Hubs went to university with a young woman who was actually asked to come and work at NASA over the summer, and yet this same young woman ran her car out of gas on multiple occasions.

Really? Yes, really.

I should also mention that one of the smartest people I know doesn’t have any higher than a high school education.

My point? Don’t read something just because it’s what everyone else is reading or because it’s what “smart” people read, read something that you are going to enjoy, whether it be smut, autobiographical, a classic, a comic book or an instructional manuel…just read.

Who knows, you might laugh, you might cry, you might want to leap on your significant other like a cheetah, hell, you might even learn something 😉

Until next time my adorable little love monkeys,

Patty ❤

18 comments on “Hold Onto Your Hats…

  1. I’m so sorry this happened to you Patty. Some people are so simple minded. You be proud of what you have accomplished! Your friends are behind you 200%!! Mwah!

  2. Diane says:

    An educated person is someone that is open minded and aware of diversity. I think this close minded person is simply judgmental and most likely jealous of your accomplishments. It takes talent and yes education to write a novel of any sort. I happen to love your genere of choice and incourage you to continue to do what you do best! Can’t wait to read your novel Patty!

    Love,
    Diane aka- Maddy’s mom 😉

    • My thoughts exactly, Diane! I don’t care for angsty books that are going to make me cry, but I don’t think everyone that reads them are emo cutters or anything it’s just different strokes for different folks. Thank you so much for stopping by D!

      • Diane says:

        LoL! I don’t know what’s worse, kicking someone when they are down or kicking them when they are up? Either way it’s ef’d up. I would have told her-” well an uneducated person can not read so sorry your stereotype/opnion just isn’t accurate dummy! ” ;-p lol~

  3. Paula says:

    You know this woman is a closet romance novel reader. You know the saying, “Me thinks the woman dost protest too much.” Also, having a so called “education” obviously doesn’t mean you have manners. Just saying. I love your writing.

  4. Robin DeJarnett says:

    Sorry you had to deal with this from someone you knew. I’ve gotten that reaction, too. But, there’s at least as many or more people who like their reading to include a dance or two between the sheets. One of my friends was looking for books to read and specifically asked for books with spice. I’ll be sure to point her at your writing!

  5. Jackie says:

    That is sad. I cannot wait to read your book. I know it will be smartly written, have incredible humor..does that make me dumb? Of course not. Ignore the ignorant Patty.

  6. mindymilburn says:

    You know I hate judgmental people more than anything, except for people who are convinced they are better than others. I would not care for this woman at all.

    You are amazingly talented Patty, not matter what you choose to write and you hit it on the head, sometimes reading is just about entertainment…most of the time that is what it is about. Those that say otherwise are those pretentious asses that carry around War and Peace to look smart.

    Keep being proud of what you do and NEVER EVER let anyone take one ounce of joy away from this experience.

    • Exactly Min! I did this, I made a world of people and gave them life and no one can ever take that away from me! I’m loving every second of this experience and I’m so glad I have such wonderful friends to share it with ❤

  7. KimHannigan says:

    Did you want to ask her when the last time was that she had a book OF ANY SORT published?? People need to quit being so judgmental and realize that not every thing is for everyone. So you didn’t write it for her in mind but the difference is that you had the class to not go postal redhead on her ass for it! I love ya babe and I am so proud of what you have accomplished. She can go live her boring life with blinders on while you continue to aspire the rest of us with your amazing talent! xoxo

  8. KimHannigan says:

    Did I just say ‘aspire’ instead of ‘inspire’? And this would be why I couldn’t write a book LMAO.

  9. BILL says:

    It’s easy to simply say ignore “what other people think”.. but you and I both know that sticks and stones break bones… but words hurt more than anything …especially from people you know.
    So CHIN UP! You have accomplished something AMAZING… Don’t you DARE let anyone ruin this success for you. This is yours.. you did what others only dream of doing. That’s pretty darn special in my book!

    • So true, Bill, it DID sting and it sucked and, quite frankly, it pissed me off. Luckily I have a great support system like all of you behind me. Y’all have no idea how much that means to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

