Good-bye 30s HELLO 40!

Good Wednesday, my darling little love monkey! Today I say good-bye to my thirties and leap, head first, into the big 4-0.

But that’s not what I want to blog about. Today was also the birthday of an amazing woman, my grandma. She was one of my biggest supporters in life and my best friend. We used to call each other on the phone every day, drink our coffee and chat about anything and everything. One of the things I remember with complete clarity was something she said to me when I was a teenager. I was very much involved in acting at my high school, and fancied myself a budding actress. Grandma, however, said something to me that turned out to be quite prolific. She told me that she thought I should be a writer.

I never really thought much about that until she passed away seven years ago. My mom and I were cleaning out her desk and down in one of the drawers was a copy of everything I’d ever written. And I mean everything, from the silliest little poem to a creative writing assignment story from English class. You see, every time I wrote something, she asked to hear it and wanted a copy of it. I never did understand why she wanted a copy of some goofy little story I’d whipped up for extra credit, but when I saw what was in that drawer I couldn’t believe what I was looking at. She’d actually kept everything, some of the things even had a grade on it because I would just hand it over to her after I got it back from the teacher.

Needless to say, this makes my journey into publication bittersweet, because the first person I wanted to call when I heard I was going to be published.

I know she would have been so ridiculously proud of what I’ve done and I know in my heart that she is somewhere, looking down on me right now with a huge smile.

So, I’d like to say, Happy Birthday Grandma! I miss you more than words can express.

Until next time, my sweet loves!

Patty ❤

This entry was posted in Journey.

6 comments on “Good-bye 30s HELLO 40!

  1. Tracy says:

    So sweet. I know you were very close with your Grandma as I was with mine (I had forgotten you two shared a birthday!) It’s so hard to not be able to share those milestones with her but you know what? I’m sure she’s watching down on you and loving you and more proud than ever. {{hugs}}

  2. Paula says:

    She was an amazing woman and my best friend as well as my mother. I miss her too sweetie.

  3. Happy Birthday my dear! And trust me, your Grandma is proud of you! I’m sure she’s smiling down on you right now! Mwah!

Leave a Reply

